How do you know if software/apps are safe?

I have tried to search the forum and the www. but I can’t seem to word it right or it has not been covered to good.

I’m a newbie to Linux and Manjaro, my question is how do I know if the software downloaded from i.e the terminal is safe? or using pacman GUI with AUR, Snaps, and flatpacks are safe?

By safe I mean a minimal chance of back-doors, trackers/loggers, and other misc malware, seeing that it’s mostly “civilian people” that have made these programs and does the updating?

i.e if I go to the Cryptomator homepage I can find an appimage to download straight from them. with a signature (which is more trustworthy to me) seeing that if there was anything with that appimage I know exactly where to turn. Rather than the one that I find in the GUI of pacman which says AUR and it has a different maintainer.

This is just one example I had, and I hope you understand what It is I’m trying to ask. I’m just trying to learn how to be confident about the apps/software I want to have on my Manjaro system.

lastly, I just want to thank all of you great people for making a superb OS.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

• When it comes to anything in the official Manjaro repositories ─ core, extra and community ─ everything is safe.

• When it comes to the AUR ─ which contains package builds usually uploaded by Arch users ─ then if you are not sure, you can inspect the PKGBUILD file and see what it pulls in, and from where. In general, the AUR is considered safe, although there is no 100% guarantee that it is, and it has in the past been abused, although this was quickly noticed and remedied.

• When it comes to AppImage, FlatPak and Snap, those should in theory be safe, because those are intended to be distribution-agnostic, and therefore they are used by multiple distributions. As such, any irregularities in that regard stand a much higher chance of getting noticed right away.