How do you find a files' full path to use in a desktop launcher for wine?

Hi,

I’m new to Linux (is) and v new to Manjaro. I am trying to get a v old windows app called Paint Shop Pro 7 to work via wine.

It installed fine and ran from the installer once, erm… installed (there was a run option at the end). It will run from the command line with wine, when I am in the application’s directory. However the path is full of spaces and I am not sure how to get it into a desktop launcher. Have tried:

/bin/wine /home/John/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files (x86)/Jasc\ Software\ Inc/Paint\ Shop\ Pro\ 7/psp.exe

but it does not work and am not sure I have the path correct.

How can I see a files’ full path?

If there are spaces in the filename and/or the directory name, then you should enclose the entire path between single or double quotes. Something like… :arrow_down:

/usr/bin/wine '/home/John/.wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86)/Jasc Software Inc/Paint Shop Pro 7/psp.exe'
1 Like

Many thanks, problem is I’m not sure I am using the correct path - I suspect a typo - is there any way of finding a files path?

Yes, by way of locate. :arrow_down:

locate text-string-here

You can further filter that, if you like. So if you only want the output of things that reside in your $HOME, then you would use something like… :arrow_down:

locate text-string-here | grep "$HOME"

However, if what you installed is still new — i.e. less than 24 hours — then the mlocate database won’t be up-to-date yet, and then you have to do that first… :arrow_down:

sudo updatedb
locate text-string-here | grep "$HOME"
1 Like

Many thanks, that worked and yes there were typos :confused: The program now starts, but I’m getting an odd error in the shell window,

Read access denied for device L"\??\I:\", FS volume label and serial are not available.

Is this an issue or can I just ignore it? I don’t get this if I just start the app in a shell without using a launcher