How do I update bios of dell inspiron 5559 model?

I want to update my bios, and I don’t know how to perform as I have never done that before.

My system: Dell Inspiron 5559 Model;

After searching for a while I found fwupd. But my device is not enlisted in the link

I went to the dell website and found a process for Ubuntu but not anything for Manjaro. So, tried the process described for Ubuntu (update bios using ubuntu): nothing happened. link

This is the inxi -M output of my device.

Machine:   Type: Laptop System: Dell product: Inspiron 5559 v: N/A serial: <superuser required> 
           Mobo: Dell model: 0T66WJ v: A00 serial: <superuser required> UEFI: Dell v: 1.4.1 date: 12/08/20

Kindly help me in this regard. Please show me correct and step by step process to perform the task.

Could you elaborate on “nothing happened”?

1 Like

Sure, so when I start to update from the boot menu. a white dialogue box appear. There was a option like drop down menu but nothing appear and another one was fill in the blank of type something but no instructions. I can not proceed from this menu. Thats why I have to cancel out from the process.

If you have no Windoze installed then you could use

https://www.hirensbootcd.org/

to generate en environment to install BIOS updates dedicated to be installed via Windoze. A BIOS update is not much linked to the OS.

1 Like

okay, got your point. But might be risky. I don’t want to break my current fine system.

Then why do you want to update?

The page you linked doesn’t show the process for your exact model, so it’s hard to give a better step-by-step instruction than Dell.

Which exact steps did you try and where did it fail?