How do I enable rEFInd to load at boot?

Hi,

I have the latest version of XFCE and refind bootloader on my computer. however on restart the computer immediately loads manjaro without giving me the option of loading another OS. What can i do to enable loading the bootloader? Apologies for the little technical knowledge but i am new to manjaro.

Thanks

Have you studied the wiki already?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/rEFInd

Another source of inspiration:

https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=UEFI_-_Install_Guide#Dual_booting_with_Windows

no absolutely not. thanks for the heads up.

OK, I looked at both but still haven’t a clue what to do. Can you lead me through enabling refind as you would a complete beginner.

We have a helpful program in our repos called manjaro-refind-installer you can try.

did you mean the forum?

I’m no expert, byebyeapple, but I use rEFInd and I play around with various Linux distributions every now and then. Sometimes a new Linux installation will “hijack” the boot sequence and boot directly to the newly installed Linux system. To remedy this I go into my Dell PC’s BIOS settings and change the boot order so that rEFInd is number 1 again.

I assume you are using an Apple product and if so then I can’t be of much more help here. I don’t know how to change the boot order on an Apple system but I’m sure someone else can chime in.

Edit: And Yochanan’s suggestion to install manjaro-refind-installer may be all that you’ll need to do. Search for it in the software app “Pamac.”

Huh? Search for manjaro-refind-installer in Add/Remove Software or from the terminal:

pamac install manjaro-refind-installer

thanks! i did install refind via add and remove but even after this it doesnt automatically go to it on restart the computer still just reboots directly into manjaro. Do i need to press any specific keys to encourage it to load refind?