How do I change the VRR Range (wayland)?

Hello everyone!
I’m new to linux and I’m enjoying it so far, yet one problem remains I can’t find any solution for. I need to change the VRR Range of my freesync monitor, because otherwise it will give a constant brightness flicker which makes it pretty much unusable. In windows I can fix this completely by changing the VRR Range from 48-144 to 48-143 with cru. Problem is, I have to use wayland to make freesync work with my multi monitor setup. From what I’ve read, I have to use a custom EDID file and make it load on boot. I followed “Kernel Mode Setting” tutorial from archlinux wiki (4 Forcing modes and EDID).
So I created user_edid with get-edid, edited it to have the correct monitor range limit with wxedid, put it in /usr/lib/firmware/edid/ and changed a line in etc/default/grub to: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=“quiet splash drm.edid_firmware=DP-1:edid/user_edid”. Problem is, this doesn’t do anything. Any other tutorials I’ve found are for NVIDIA GPUs or X11 specifically. I’d really appreciate any help. Please let me know if I have to provide further information.

And you run

sudo update-grub

and reboot, right?

Thanks for your answer. Forgot to specify, but yes, I did this. It still had no effect.

A working VRR on Wayland depends on Desktop you are using. Variable refresh rate - ArchWiki

Check the EDID, if there is a difference:

pamac install base-devel
pamac build edid-decode-git
find -L /sys/class/drm/ -maxdepth 2 -type f -iname "*edid" -exec sh -c 'echo "{}"' \; -exec edid-decode "{}" 2>/dev/null \;
1 Like