How can I install linux tools of an older kernel?

Hi there,

I am a newbie,

I am running kernel 4.19 KDE

I installed slimbook battery and it says “it is recommended to install linux tools for your kernel version”

In the repository there is only linux-tools-meta of kernel 5.17 (is it what I am looking for anyway?)

How can I install linux tools of kernel 4.19

Thank you in advance

Hi @auo,

While I’ve never heard of the package, there does seem to be something like it in the community repository:

$ pamac  search linux-tools                     
[...]
linux-tools-meta                                                                                                                                                                                                                         5.17-1   community
Linux kernel tools meta package

And it does seem to contain many a thing regarding power-management:

$ pamac info linux-tools-meta
Name                  : linux-tools-meta
Version               : 5.17-1
Description           : Linux kernel tools meta package
URL                   : https://www.kernel.org
Licences              : GPL2
Repository            : community
Groups                : --
Depends On            : bootconfig bpf cgroup_event_listener cpupower hyperv perf tmon turbostat usbip x86_energy_perf_policy
Optional Dependencies : --
Provides              : --
Replaces              : --
Conflicts With        : acpidump
Packager              : Sébastien Luttringer <seblu@seblu.net>
Build Date            : Sat 26 Mar 2022 01:15:07
Validated By          : MD5 Sum  SHA-256 Sum  Signature

So you can always install that and see if it solves your problem:

pamac install linux-tools-meta

Hope this helps!

And P.S.:

Is there any specific reason you don’t upgrade to a newer kernel?

Hey thanks for the advice,

I have downloaded

linux-tools-meta 5.17 from pamac, slimbook battery still says that I need linux tools for my kernel version.