How can I install Budgie-SOLUS and create new MBR?

dear Phil,
How can i UNDO and delete all the changes that GRUB did in the Master Boot Record and make my HDD bootable as Legacy BIOS MBR again ?

i am quite old and i am not getting well with all the amount of Manjaro-updates, because they are very complicated for me, and i am a NOOB and should be spending more time outdoors in the nature to keep fit, than on the computer… :slight_smile:

i want to change to a clean installation of Budgie-SOLUS without Manjaro on it.

my laptop is Legacy BIOS MBR on a HDD.
it is NOT uefi.

10 hours i tried yesterday to install Solus, but the Master Boot Record of the HDD was not able to find the boot sector and always failed to boot.

then - in desparation - i even tried to install Ubunt and also my WinXP recovery cds: Nothing worked, HDD unbootable.

now i re-installed Manjaro again, and the laptop boots using GRUB without problem, and i am online here with it.

what do i have to do to UNDO and delete all the changes of GRUB in the Master Boot Record,
and make the HDD bootable as Legacy BIOS MBR again, in order to make a clean install of Budgie-SOLUS?

Budie-SOLUS is definitly NOT using GRUB.

i assume the MBR should be MBR/DOS and point to a NTFS formated HDD with Boot-FLAG on it?

Could you please explain detailed step by step (i am NOOB :slight_smile: ) what to do?

i am afraid that messing with the MBR could also completely destroy the HDD…
many thanks

mod. edit: moved to new topic

The other os (budgie) installer should have an option to do it. Maybe you did not click it.
The commands in the arch wiki (grub-install) should actually work on any linux os with grub like ubuntu.

There is no such thing as legacy mbr :slight_smile:
For windows xp and 7 the commands are fixmbr and fixboot from recovery console (you need a windows dvd/cd). There are many guides on the internet.