How add a launcher to the apps menu for an app that runs from a script?

SongKong works brilliantly as a music files tagger, but its Linux iteration is limited to a folder that sits anywhere you choose to put it and is launched by cd-ing into that folder and launching a shell script: ./songkong.sh

I’m a user not a developer, but I’d have thought it shouldn’t be too difficult to “finish the job” and have that script integrated with the applications menu. There is an icon, which appears in my sidebar when the app is running, and I hoped I might be able to pin it there as a launcher, but right clicking on it just offers “All windows” or “Quit”.

It’s a pain to have to keep opening a terminal, cd-ing to the applications folder and running the script. I’ve done a fair bit of searching on adding launchers, tweaking menus and creating shortcuts, but found nothing yet that quite fits the bill. Any nudges in the right direction would be much appreciated.

I’m running Manjaro Gnome on a desktop pc with top, bottom and side bars, “Applications” and “Places” menus dropping down from the former. Ideally I’d like to have the SongKong icon on the Applications menu under “Sound & Video”.

You could use the concept presented here [root tip] [How To] I have downloaded a program as a jar file - what now?

1 Like

This looks helpful - thanks a lot.

I need a bit more help though regarding step 3, making a script, because although I believe SongKong is written in Java, it doesn’t come as a .jar file. The executable bit is ./songkong.sh so what script would I need to run that? (Sorry if I’m being dim - I’m at the limits of my understanding here!)

Your songkong.sh is a script. :bulb:

Assuming it’s executable:

chmod +x ./songkong.sh

…that should likely run your Java app. You could possibly make an alias to the script, or create a .desktop file to launch it via Terminal.

Much appreciate the help but I’m still struggling here!