Help with my simple update-maintenance script

Hello there

I made a simple script to:

• refresh mirrors
  • update packages from all sources including AUR, flatpaks and snaps
  • remove orphaned packages
  • clean package cache
  • refresh keys

i try to avoid multiple sudo inputs ,any thoughts?

also i am pretty new to linux and bash scripting so dont hurt me much :stuck_out_tongue:

#!/bin/bash

echo Refresh Mirrors?
echo " "
read mirrors
if [[ "$mirrors" = "y" ]]; then
echo " "
echo " "
sudo pacman-mirrors --continent --api --protocols all --set-branch stable
wait
echo " "
echo " "
sudo pacman -Syyu
echo " "
echo " "
pamac upgrade -a
echo " "
echo " "
sudo flatpak update -y & snap refresh
echo " "
echo " "
pamac remove -o
echo " "
echo " "
pamac clean
echo " "
echo " "

else
sudo pacman -Syyu
echo " "
echo " "
pamac upgrade -a
echo " "
echo " "
sudo flatpak update -y & snap refresh
echo " "
echo " "
pamac remove -o
echo " "
echo " "
pamac clean
echo " "
echo " "
fi

echo Refresh Keys?
echo " "
read keys
if [[ "$keys" = "y" ]]; then
echo " "
echo " "
sudo pacman-key --refresh-keys
echo " "
echo " "
sudo pacman-key --populate archlinux manjaro
echo " "
echo " "
else
$SHELL
fi

$SHELL

sudo does remember the authentication for a number of minutes ─ I think it’s five minutes by default ─ so two subsequent sudo calls should only require your password once, provided that the first call finishes within the allotted time.

But I don’t understand why you’ve included a wait after the first sudo. You can simply use a condition instead, like so… :arrow_down:

sudo pacman-mirrors [and all that jazz] && sudo pacman -Syyu

The && is a logical AND operand. So the update process will only run once the mirror list has been updated, and will not run if the mirror list update fails for whatever reason.

That said, instead of sudo pacman -Syyu, you can also use pamac update, which doesn’t require sudo. But it’ll still ask you for a password, of course.