Help with autologin minimal install

Hello,

I am just starting out with Manjaro, and I downloaded the minimal installation for raspberry pi 4.

Everything is working ok for now, however I would like to have the user I created autologin on boot.

I searched around, but everything I found is related to one of the desktop environments, and I have the minimal version which is just console and none of those tools.

How can I go about achieving the auto login?

As 2 extra “bonus” items, something else I want and need to do is:

• How can I prevent the user from being asked the password every time I issue a sudo command?
  • Is there a way to change the small graphic (manjaro logo) that appears at boot and shutdown?

Thanks!!

Hello @walterg74 and welcome :wink:

Here you go: getty - ArchWiki

I would not recommend that, but you can add this to the sudoers file. Preferred place would a custom file at /etc/sudoers.d/.

your_username ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL

One command:

echo "$USER ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL" | sudo tee -a /etc/sudoers.d/nopasswd

No idea what you mean :man_shrugging:

Thanks!

I managed to get the login investigating meanwhile, and also the passwordless sudo, although it did not work adding to the sudoers file, rather adding to a new file in sudoers.d like you mention, but with a different syntax of !authenticate.

I know normally this is a security risk , but this is towards building an emulation image to boot up a retro computer, so not really concerned about it.

Regarding the logo, it’s what appears as soon as it starts booting. Did you not see it ever? It’s like this:

It only appears for a very short while. Not sure if it resembles a theme but if that even applies to this minimal desktop-less build?

Now I am researching a new thing and it’s to run a script on bootup, after the autologin. I tired as seen elsewhere to create an /etc/rc.local file but that did not work/

Edit: did not let me upload image. It’s like this: