Help: Optimize Manjaro for gaming

I have been using Manjaro for a couple years now, but I am not the greatest. I just built a new PC so I have a new install (KDE) going here and now that my CPU isn’t 10 years old, I really want to do everything I can to know my PC is getting the best fps possible on this install.

Well I remember on my last install there was something I saw recommended that I installed. I thought it was called “performance-tweaks”, but I can’t seem to find anything under any searches. Maybe it’s something similar in name to that, anyone know what I’m talking about?

In the process of trying to find what that was, I stumbled upon this page:
wwwiguessicantpostlinks
Where they are talking about the CPU govenor. So I looked into it and downloaded TLPUI, but not really sure what I should be doing with the settings here.
What about further down on that site where they talk about turning off compositing? Is that a hassle?

For now I am on the latest Nvidia drivers and latest kernel and did everything for gamemode. I set swappiness to 10 and enabled trim on my 980 pro.

Lutris and a custom proton like GE proton can help. Not sure how well they work but Chris Titus on YouTube does lots of tutorials for gaming on linux

There’s not really anything to optimize. Use GameMode (and configure it properly) to make sure your CPU is at its full potential, and other priority and I/O things (see GameMode config file).

Use latest drivers, the 5.10 LTS kernel (or other kernel if you can benefit from some new features), optimize your games configuration (here you can gain something), and enjoy.

You mean “was doing”? Last time I watched one of his video was when he said Linux gaming is crap and he doesn’t want to hear about it anymore (or something along those lines, I unsubscribed then)

3 Likes

I use GE already. And I can’t stand that guy, he bores me to death and I have never learned anything from his videos before I close them out.

1 Like