Grub suddenly disappeared

I have been using dual boot on Lenovo Slim 7 for a few months or so now without any issues in terms of booting up Windows or Manjaro Gnome.
Today I shut down my laptop from Manjaro as I wanted to boot into Windows.
When I powered it on it suddenly showed that it can’t find a bootable device or something like that. I restarted it and this time it booted straight into Windows as if there isn’t a linux partition on the drive.
I checked the BIOS settings but in the boot order only Windows boot manager is available there is no sign of the Grub manager or the linux partition.

Here is a very useful article on the wiki. GRUB/Restore the GRUB Bootloader - Manjaro

Windows has been doing this for years now.

1 Like

Looks like a Windows update updated the Win bootloader (which ignores Linux installs), you have to get Manjaro’s grub loader back in charge by re-installing it. Here’s how:

Boot from a Manjaro LiveUSB and open a terminal and type
manjaro-chroot -a
This lists installed systems, pick your Manjaro and log in. Assuming you have only one single drive called sda you can re-install grub with
sudo grub-install /dev/sda

Reboot and you should be back to normal.

1 Like

HI Jtyle6 and 6x12 and thank you for the replies and help.

6x12,
unfortunately doing manjaro-chroot -a was showing ManajroLinux as an available system however it gave an error when i tried to sing into it,

I followed the steps in the article from Jtyle6 and despite not understanding quite what I was doing it appears to have worked. For root I just used the only path that was marked as ext4 and also mounted the efi, and just used the two EFI installation commands as is from the article page.

I find it weird that Windows caused this issue. I hadn’t booted into windows for some time and had previously successfully shut down and booted back into Manjaro multiple times. Is there a way to prevent this from happening when having a dual boot system?