Getting wide blurred edges instead of blurred window

Hello there , I am new to the GNU/Linux.so, I don’t know many basic things. actually I am trying to use a transparent window decoration (Polarnight -dark) but instead geeting the window to be transparent I am getting wide transparent edges (which is not same as shown in the preview for this window decoration), as you can see in the image.

Please help me getting correct this, Thank you.

What you call the edges are the window decoration. Therefore, installing a translucent window decoration gives you translucent window borders.

If you want the window itself to be translucent, then what you need to do is set the application theme to kvantum and install a translucent kvantum theme from store.kde.org. You must download and unpack this theme and then point the Kvantum Manager to the folder with the unpacked theme.

For instance, this theme below is a kvantum theme called Glow Mojave Dark. :arrow_down:

Thanks for the reply, but I have tried this method for sweet kde theme but still not getting translucent window.

as you can see in the image I am not getting the transluency on window in Dolphin

and this are my settings

It depends on the application in question. Not all applications support full translucency, but with a translucent theme, at least some parts of the window will then still be translucent.

Also, kvantum themes only work with Qt-based applications. GTK-based applications ─ e.g. gimp and pamac ─ have their own separate theme settings, and to the best of my knowledge, there is no support for translucency in GTK anymore, except maybe for the terminal window.

The bottom line is that not every window will look the same. In Qt-based applications, it all depends on which parts of the application window were designed to allow for translucency if a kvantum theme is used, and there is almost always going to be a difference in appearance between Qt applications and GTK applications.