GeForce GT710 driver issues

Hello,

I’m new to the forum and I’ve been running Manjaro KDE for several months without problems until this large (672) update arrived.

When I applied it, a warning advised:

“Installing Nvidia-utils(460-80-1) breaks dependency Nvidia-utils=455.45.01 required. Add linux59-nvidia to remove”

I couldn’t understand this warning as my knowledge of Linux is very basic.

So I ignored I ignored applied the update.

After restart I could only run Windows 10 (HDD ) from the boot loader, and when Manjaro (SSD) was started the screen was black and frozen.

I wiped the SSD and reinstalled Manjaro from live USB. When the update notice returned it also mentioned that my running kernel was unsupported.

I searched the update list and found Nvidia-utils(460-80-1). I removed it from the update and proceeded. Everything now appeared to be OK on restart.

However a notification indicated that I needed to install Nvidia-utils(460-80-1), which I’d purposely omitted and it appears that it is required by Rawtherapee.

I have concluded that my GeForce GT710 is useless for Manjaro because Nvidia-utils(460-80-1) has no drivers for it.

I am prepared to get a new capable graphics card to continue using Manjaro and I’d be grateful for your suggestions , if any.

System: Kernel: 5.9.16-1-MANJARO x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 10.2.0 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.21.5 Distro: Manjaro Linux
base: Arch Linux
Machine: Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P8H61-MX USB3 v: Rev X.0x serial: UEFI: American Megatrends v: 1003
date: 08/27/2013
CPU: Info: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-3470 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Ivy Bridge rev: 9 cache: L2: 6 MiB
flags: avx lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 bogomips: 25610
Speed: 3592 MHz min/max: 1600/3600 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3592 2: 1967 3: 1724 4: 2517
Graphics: Device-1: NVIDIA GK208B [GeForce GT 710] vendor: ASUSTeK driver: nvidia v: 455.45.01 bus-ID: 01:00.0