GCPW - Log into the system through Google account

Hello everyone,
I would like to set-up a couple of PC in the school where I work with a full Manjaro system.
To do that I need to understand if it would be possible to allow users (students and teachers) to log into the PC using their Google Account (the school has activated Google Workspace).
I already have done that in all Windows PC (see GCPW…), but I’m quite confused in Linux as far as I’m not so smart with it.
I have already made LDAP certificates in the Google Console and uploaded them into my own PC (in /var). I have installed sssd, configured and enabled the service. But I’m not sure this is the right way to get the point.
Can you give me some help?
Thanks in advance for the time you will spend on this and pardon my bad English!

Hello,

So you followed this ? NFTF: Google Workspace | Secure LDAP and Linux Sign-In - Google Dokument

1 Like

I am also not an expert on this, but as I understand it, you have to install openldap on the server and let that take care of authentication. :arrow_down:

From there on, it would probably be possible to have openldap import the pertinent Google accounts and use them for logins. :arrow_down:

https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/528229/how-auth-in-linux-with-google-account

1 Like

yes. But I still don’t understand how to authenticate myself into the PC using my Google Account. I’m confused

I even don’t have a clear idea about how LDAP works. Anyway, it should represent the bridge that let users to connect to Google servers to authenticate themselves. If i correctly understand, my PC should be the “client” and Google Console the “server”. Is that right?

I have configured sssd.conf…but NOW? I would like to see something in the login screen that let me authenticate with my Google account.