Function key does not work

Hello all,

My PC has both Windows 11 and Manjaro installation. I used Windows 11 for entertainment and Manjaro mainly for my work. On Windows 11, there is nothing wrong, I can see that it can detect the function key (F1 to F12) of my keyboard; however, on Manjaro, it does not. I am a programmer, thus the function keys are quite important for me to operate with the IDE. When I use key-test dot ru to test the event, F3 and F4 show the mouse left click event, while F11/F22 is for the volume adjustment and F10 for the volume on/off toggle.

On my mechanical keyboard, pressing Fn + Esc is for resetting the keyboard and I did reset it a few times to the factory setting. I installed xev and this is the printout for F1 through my keyboard

FocusOut event, serial 43, synthetic NO, window 0x6200001,
    mode NotifyGrab, detail NotifyAncestor

FocusIn event, serial 43, synthetic NO, window 0x6200001,
    mode NotifyUngrab, detail NotifyAncestor

KeymapNotify event, serial 43, synthetic NO, window 0x0,
    keys:  73  0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   
           0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0

Do you guys have any idea how to fix this? This is my Manjaro current settings

• Host: Venus series 1.0

• Kernel: 6.6.26-1-MANJARO

• Shell: zsh 5.9

• DE: Xfce 4.18

• WM: Xfwm4

Have you checked the bios of the minipc? You can enter it from the grub menu too (hit esc or shift at the beginning of booting).
Or if it is some programmable keyboard, its manual and settings and firmware.

Seems like the top row is combined F + other functions like on laptops, my lenovo has a setting for this in the bios. Also there might be a key combo to lock the state into F mode and disable media keys etc.

1 Like