Firefox not starting

Hi,
I’m new to manjaro and I would like to run Firefox browser. However I get an error message that another instance is already running, what is not true.

After reading on forum/internet i have to set an environement variable in the /etc/environment file as following:
MOZ_DBUS_REMOTE=1

I reboot system and tried again, but I still have the same issue.
So what did I do wrong ?

thx

Did you try with a fresh profile?

Hi @alain.roger, and welcome!

In addition to

…how did you install it? I’m using Firefox Developer edition without any problems.

This is a fresh installation of Manjaro with a fresh profile. I worked under Ubuntu for 7 years without having such issue so I do not understand what is the issue. I installed FF using sudo pacman -Syu firefox.

I even tried to downgrade it as some posts on internet suggested it, but nothing works.

:point_up:

Can you start firefox on console: firefox ?

1 Like

I installed FF using standard way so sudo pacman -Syu firefox

Installed version is 102.0.1

I was able to install nvidia driver, opencl driver, vivaldi,and a lot of over apps without any issue.

Only firefox say that another instance is running while ps -ef | grep firefox display no running process including firefox (except the grep)
2022-07-07_FF issue-ps results

Here is my environment variable file
2022-07-07_FF issue-environment variable

same result in console or via app launcher icon…
2022-07-07_FF issue

Have you followed all the steps on Mozilla’s support page: “Firefox is already running but is not responding” error - How to fix?

You should make sure that no Firefox processes are running before you remove any lock files from your profile & do any other steps such as setting directory permissions.

You can try launching Firefox in terminal with firefox -p.
This opens the chooser - and from here, instead of your main profile, I suggest you create a new profile - call it alain maybe.