Firefox - doesn't raise window after clicking a link on Wayland

After the latest update, I noticed, that clicking on links is no longer raising the window. I need to make additional action to get the Firefox window.

For work, I need to click many links, from mails, other apps and I need it to open the site immediately. The fact that I now have an intermediate step is irritating and tiring.

Is there a way to fix it?

I checked Wayland and X11 and the issue is happening in both sessions.

Any ideas?

1 Like

I didn’t notice any changes to tab opening when Firefox activated native Wayland (I’ve been running Wayland full-time for a couple of years now). However, I was finally able to remove a couple of Mozilla Wayland-specific settings from my .bashrc file though:

Regarding tabs not opening in the foreground, I would recommend that you visit about:config in Firefox to access advanced preferences, then enter inbackground in the filter bar, and make sure that browser.tabs.loadDivertedInBackground and browser.tabs.loadInBackground are set to false.

You might also want to install plasma-browser-integration from the Manjaro repos (if not already installed) and add the Plasma Integration addon to Firefox. I don’t think they will impact your issue of tabs not opening in the foreground, but they will make Firefox work better with the Plasma desktop environment.

2 Likes

So when you click on links from mail (Thunderbird), documents (pdf’s, odt) apps it raises the FF window to the top for you?

I checked the about:config, and it is set to false, as you said. Also, I already have plasma-browser-integration and it’s activated in FF.

So why did it change? I mean, why is FF is not raised on link click?

EDIT: I checked on X11 and the situation is the same! It means, it has nothing to do with Wayland. So what on earth could cause it, and how to fix it?

EDIT 2: I checked different browser (Chromium) and it is raised to the top after clicking a link. So this is Firefox issue.