Finding Out The Root Password

Hi everyone I’m new to linux and recently installed manjaro kde on a laptop. I’m not entirely sure if this is the right support subforum to ask this question but I didn’t notice a more specific one. I’ve ran basic updates in pacman but when I try using sudo commands it always asks for a password which I get incorrect and don’t know. I set the login and admin passwords the same when I installed manjaro. To get around this I use the su command before using sudo and then the password I set at installation will work however when I watch tutorials online I don’t notice people having to input su in the terminal first. I’m somewhat confused over what is the standard password and which is the root password. Is the root password the password I set at installation and works with su or is it preset at installation and I didn’t notice to write it down? If I don’t have the root password is there an easy way for me to access it? I did watch a tutorial where it was reset in grub but I’m still pretty new to all this so would like to avoid having to do that for now if I don’t need to.

Hi,

If I understood correctly you first run su and then use sudo to run commands.
You don’t need to do this.
su actually means “let me become the root user”, and once you are root your prompt goes from “$” to “#”.
According to some people, su is useful for 2 things :

1. Make a huge mistake
  2. Fix that huge mistake

In other words, don’t use su, you only need sudo, which means “run the following command as root user”, so just do this : sudo pacman -Syu, you’ll be asked to enter your password and then the command shall run fine.

Thanks. So if I enter su first in the terminal is the password I enter after that with su the root password which I set at installation? The problem I have is that if I don’t enter su first and try sudo commands it asks me for a password I don’t know and always get wrong after 3 attemps.

Is your user account a member of the “wheel” group?