Fcitx-mozc: switching between hiragana and katakana

Hello everyone,

I’m fairly new to Manjaro, and a learner of Japanese. It seems most users type in romaji, but I use direct kana input.

On Windows:

• pressing Alt + Shift changes the input language (to Japanese, with English characters)
  • Alt + Caps Lock changes the keyboard input to hiragana
  • pressing it again changes to katakana
  • Ctrl + Caps Lock returns to hiragana

(I think these key combos are right, but I’ve been relying on muscle memory for a long time.)

In Mozc settings, I can’t find any key mapping option for changing between the hiragana and katakana “composition modes” (as Mozc calls them). Is there a way to set a key for switching from one to the other?

Note: I’ve tried using xmodmap and setting Caps Lock as the Muhenkan key, but this disables Caps Lock behaviour in other languages as well. Is it possible to set multiple keys to one action? Not as a compose key, which is a succession of inputs, but rather a same-time combination?

Thank you.

Hi,

I learn japanese as well and I have an alternative and completely different solution for you : I never heard of that program, actually I wrote my own python script to directly transcribe romaji to hiragana or katakana, there it is:

import sys as s 
import romkan as r 
ph = s.argv[2:] 
o = " ".join(ph) 
if s.argv[1] == "hiragana": 
    print(r.to_hiragana(o), end = "") 
elif s.argv[1] == "katakana": 
    print(r.to_katakana(o), end = "") 

I use it in 2 different ways : either in the terminal thanks to a function I wrote myself (it’s in fish shell but I can write a bash version if you want) :

function hr ### romaji to hiragana
	set a (python  ~/.tg/jap.py hiragana $argv)
	printf $a | xclip -selection c
	echo \n$a\n
end

then I can type hr omae ha mou shindeiru in my terminal, which outputs おまえ は もう しんでいる and copies it into my clipboard.