Fan is not working also system shutdown automatically in between use

As the title describes that my fan is not working, noticed it recently, and I think that’s why my system shuts down automatically, plz help newbie here. and sorry for my bad English.

Hi!
Check in your bios if it’s really working, or fiscally. Then install lm_sensros, run sensors-detect and check if it show

1 Like

Welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

Well, then I guess you’re going to have to replace the fan, or have someone else do it for you. Overheating is very bad for your circuitry and can ruin your processor. :man_shrugging:

1 Like

It’s working fine on window 10, but “sensors” it’s not showing fan RPM

It’s working fine for window 10 and I don’t think its fan problem, also It’s not showing fan “RPM” while running “sensor” command. so I think it could not be a fan problem It might be some software problem.

also I don’t use this system for heavy work so there is no chance for overheating.

The system fans are normally controlled by the firmware, not by the operating system. If it works in Windows, then I don’t know why that is the case.

If your system is automatically shutting down while your fans are known not to work, then that most certainly is overheating. And if you continue using it like that, then your CPU won’t last for very long anymore.

:man_shrugging:

(Thread title sanitized and thread moved from #desktop-environments:Plasma to #support:general.)

okay I get it what you are saying. and Thankyou for your help. but why fan “RPM” not showing

Maybe the kernel doesn’t have a driver for your fan’s sensor? We don’t know what motherboard you have, or what processor, or what storage, or… well, anything at all, really. You haven’t told us. :man_shrugging:

maybe the kernel doesn’t have support for fan sensor. it’s possible.

I can provide you all the details of my system but doesn’t know the command for it.

try inxi -Fxxxza

1 Like