Does Manjaro support touch screen fully?

Hi guys, I’m new here and I’d like to switch from Windows to Linux because of the latest Windows 11 announcements.

So I’ve browsed the internet and found that Manjaro is the most beginner friendly Linux so far. I’d love to try it, therefore, I need to know if it supports touch screens?

My laptop has a touch screen that I enjoy using and I would love to have that option on Manjaro.

Although I am new to Manjaro specifically, I have used Linux Ubuntu before on an older PC, I can use a few commands on a terminal and all, so even if there needs to be a bit of work done to get Manjaro to support my touch screen, I’m willing to do it.

Thank you all, and have a nice day.

manjaro is not a entry-level distribution. this is a story-tale of the www. if you wanna get into linux use something more conservative, stable and no rolling release.
ubuntu-based distros are a good pick to start into linux (linux mint, mx linux or whatever). you can get an overview here:

something windows users don’t know is that linux has several graphical user interfaces (kde/plasma, gnome, cinnamon, xfce, mate, …)
you can pick out of a hell of different graphical user interfaces and depending which you use you can also configure them optical in a way that you can’t believe if you’re coming from windows.
some of them are supporting touch as default, some need to install touch-interfaces additional and some don’t.

a good step is to use the live-images that the distros deliver and check which graphical user interface is your choice. be aware that using usb-sticks to boot a operating system is very slow, but you get a first impression.

4 Likes

Welcome to the forum! :vulcan_salute: