Does btrfs use more resources than ext4?

If i were to install btrfs will it consume more resources than ext4? I have no experience with btrfs.

I have no experience with BTRFS, but I think it consumes more resources than EXT4, because BTRFS stores multiple snapshots in disk or I am wrong. I read briefly that BTRFS is good for servers. EXT4 is good for desktop and is pretty stable.

1 Like

If you want to use BTRFS for Desktop, then maybe better solution to create 3 separate partitions:

1. partition:
    FAT32 for /boot directory.

2. partition:
    BTRFS is for / as root directory, if root-data were wrong or system was broken, you can restore it or rollback to old snapshots…

3. partition:
    EXT4 for /home directory for many resources.

1 Like

Not if you don’t make any snapshots. btrfs does not make any snapshots out of its own accord.

Furthermore, it’s a copy-on-write filesystem and it supports transparent inline compression, both of which mean that it actually uses less disk space than ext4. It only writes the modified data to new disk sectors while leaving the unmodified sectors alone.

You should never use vfat for /boot unless you use refind as the boot loader. If you want to create a separate /boot, then it’s better to make it ext4, with or without snapshots.

Only if you do actually have snapshots.

I have no idea what you mean by “for many resources.” :confused:

2 Likes

I haven’t noticed and slowdowns using BTRFS I don’t use snapshots so I don’t know how that works but it’s been very stable for me.

2 Likes

I mean /home directory has more data ownership, for example accounts, each account uses its own data.

Sorry for my bad English.

2 Likes

BTRFS is a next-generation-filesystem. It does a lot of things different then older filesystems.
EXT4 is a evolution of EXT2 and EXT3
With BTRFS you can (but you don’t have to):

• join partitions to build one BTRFS-Volume