Dell XPS15 9560 is heating more on Manjaro than on Windows with the same apps open

Hi everyone!

I’m new to Manjaro and I’ve switched to Linux because I’m learning programming.

I come from Windows and when I open on Manjaro all the apps I normally use, the laptop starts to heat more and the fans increase their RPMs (over 4000 RPM)

The things I did to optimize:

1. For graphics cards I use the “video-hybrid-intel-nvidia-450xx-prime” driver - which I understand is able to use Nvidia GTX 1050 only when it’s needed.

2. I installed TLP-UI and set up the CPU Energy to “balance_power”

3. Set up fans mode to balanced with:
    smbios-thermal-ctl --set-thermal-mode=balanced

Overall, the memory and CPU usage seems lower on Manjaro than Windows so I don’t understand why it’s hotter and fans make more effort on Manjaro than Windows.

It could be that I use a Windows trading software with Wine? it seems to significantly increase the CPU temperature when I open it and thus the fans to kick in.

So my questions is if there’s anything else I could do to optimize it or the use of Windows apps through Wine Server is at fault?
In the second case, there’s anything I could do to make it work smother, like Windows?

Thanks and all the best!

Hi, what’s your cpu model?

CPU it’s Intel i7-7700HQ_CPU_@_2.80GHz

Hello,

Just curios if you checked this and done accordingly
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Dell_XPS_15_9560

I use video-modesetting since I don’t need nvidia for my activities
apart from arch wiki page
I’ve also followed some fixing for heating problem, normal in this machine

Fixing heat

Screenshot_20201015_121258

Have you tried undervolting a bit? i do it on my i7, helps a lot in the temps.
I use this app: GitHub - georgewhewell/undervolt: Undervolt Intel CPUs under Linux

Always start with small values as suggested.
I found my sweetspot at:

core: -130.86 mV
gpu: 0.0 mV
cache: -130.86 mV
uncore: 0.0 mV
analogio: 0.0 mV