DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.2-1 Permission Denied Install Issue

Hi All,

I keep getting the “Permission denied” error when installing the current version of Davinci Resolve Studio. I am using the GUI and AUR is enabled. I have also gone to Blackmagic and downloaded the windows version of the same package and left it in the Download folder like Eavnos Linux suggests. The strangest part is I have uninstalled and installed from 16-Beta, to 17-Beta, to 17.1-Beta, to finally 17.1 Studio after I bought the license. I followed the same procedure by removing 17.1 to upgrade to 17.2-1, but now I get the error below. I have been using Manjaro Linux for around 5 years and will try the ISO if I have to do so, but I hope this is an easy fix for someone on this forum. I really need my DaVinci Resolve back. Best bang for the one time buck in my opinion.

Will sum.

Regards,

Gerry

Building davinci-resolve-studio…
==> Making package: davinci-resolve-studio 17.2-1 (Sat 15 May 2021 09:50:36 PM CDT)
==> Checking runtime dependencies…
==> Checking buildtime dependencies…
==> Retrieving sources…
→ Found DaVinci_Resolve_Studio_17.2_Linux.zip
==> Validating source files with sha256sums…
DaVinci_Resolve_Studio_17.2_Linux.zip … Passed
==> Removing existing $srcdir/ directory…
==> Extracting sources…
→ Extracting DaVinci_Resolve_Studio_17.2_Linux.zip with bsdtar
==> Starting prepare()…
==> Removing existing $pkgdir/ directory…
==> Entering fakeroot environment…
==> Starting package()…
==> Creating missing folders…
==> Extracting from bundle…
Please wait, this take a while…
/var/tmp/pamac-build-mapman97/davinci-resolve-studio/PKGBUILD: line 121: ./DaVinci_Resolve_Studio_17.2_Linux.run: Permission denied
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in package().
Aborting…

Hello,

That is absolutely unnecessary. You should already know that, if a package is updated, or the source of it, just updating/building (if from AUR) again will do it, as any update/reinstall of a new package …