Macbook air 2015-16, camera doesn't work

Dear all, I am new to Manjaro, I installed it on my Macbook air but (because i was completely mad at apple) i completely removed Mac OS. my Mackbook is from around 2015-2016, and its camera is not working.

i got the camera working while running ubuntu based distros, but i don’t like them. Manjaro is my favorite, i love it, but it would be nice to be able to use the camera. the filmware that one can find online doesn’t work on Manjaro’s latest kernels, does anyone know if i can somehow make it work? also what if i get Mac’s original driver, can i then somehow install it?

i would appreciate any help, as Manjaro is simply amazing.

the following is the particular solution i had in mind, it works on many distros but not on Manjaro’s latest kernels.

p.s. to be more precise, this solution, which works on many distros, doesn’t work on Manjaro.

Hi @grigors04 and welcome to the Manjaro community.

There is an Arch-specific installation procedure (Manjaro is Arch-based), plus the bcwc-pcie-git and facetimehd-firmware AUR packages mentioned in the same link you posted (scroll down).

No. This is why the driver has been reverse-engineered – because the Mac driver (any native mac driver) can not be installed on any other OS.

These queries should best be made by opening an issue at the very same GitHub link; or by submitting a request at the respective AUR pages (you would need to create an account).

I hope this helps. Cheers.

Aside:- One possible workaround might be to multiboot macOS and Manjaro, in which case, you could continue to use your camera (in macOS) even if it’s not functioning in Manjaro.

okay, thank you! i will create an issue there.

just one question, is using older kernels not recommended?

i read somewhere that it cannot be installed on newer kernels because of linux headers, and there was a suggestion to manually change all the headers. does anyone happen to know what this might mean?