Change middle click to right click button in order to close the window buttons in the panel Xfce

Hello everyone,
I used Bunsenlabs, openbox and Tint2 for a while and I got used to one thing : to close window buttons directly in the tint2 panel by right clicking on them. I use a microsoft arc mouse without middle click… That was indeed very convenient.
Back on Manjaro and Xfce, I can only choose the middle click to obtain the same result :frowning:
Since I don’t have any middle click, is it possible to have this action in the Xfce panel ?
Thanks for your help, have a nice day,
David.

Welcome to the forum! :vulcan_salute:

Well, I have no experience with Xfce, but it should be possible to emulate a middle click by pressing both the left and right mouse buttons together — it is available in Plasma, so I presume it will be available in Xfce as well. Check your mouse settings in System Settings.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice… I did try this solution but none of them worked for me. The simultaneous click right-left won’t work…

Did you reboot after making the changes?

Yep :frowning:

Well, at this point I’m afraid I cannot offer you any other advice. Let’s hope for someone else to jump on the thread and bring something new to the table. :slightly_frowning_face: :man_shrugging:

On XFCE and therefore Xorg I would use this:

xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 3 2"

That remaps button 2 to be a rightclick and button 3 to be the middleclick, button 1 stays as leftclick. Is this what you mean?

Read this: XMODMAP(1) manual page

No but thanks for sharing. I just want to change the behaviour of the right click when it’s over a windox button :

I would like my right click to close directly the button as a middle click does when you choose this option in Xfce panel

Sorry if the menu is in french :frowning:

For all the other purposes, i want to keep the right click the way it is in fact.