CAps LOck DElay Issue

Hi all,

I’m having the dreaded caps lock delay issue, covered by this link Xorg/Keyboard configuration - ArchWiki

This worked–and it worked when I was using Mint. But recently it seems to be reverting to the original cap script after initially running the alternative cap script. Incredibly frustrating because I’m one of these ‘caps lock capitalizers’ and it really disrupts the flow of my typing. Any idea why the script might stop working after failing to run? I’m a noob so detailed instructions of what you think the problem might be would be helfpul.

Thanks

People use the caps lock button?

According to the article:

Consider making it a service launching after X starts, since reloaded configurations do not survive a system reboot.

So could you give us more information how you did that exactly because Mint is not a rolling release and Manjaro is, so your xkbmap gets updated more frequently on Manjaro so you need to automate the keyboard reconfiguration.

The answer: I didn’t and that’s the bit I need help with is a perfectly reasonable answer to the above question… :innocent: :wink:

:thinking:

P.S. @BusinessOrc Might be funny, but is not helpful: people who were taught blind typing on a mechanical typewriter all have this issue as those did not have a Caps lock nor a Shift but a Shift Lock. You’re very funrtunate never having had to use one of these clunkers:

:stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: :crazy_face:

For sure. Thanks for the info. I have a script in my home directory called “capscript” containing the following, marked as executable:

#!/bin/sh

echo “Startup script was run at $(date)” >> /home/username/myxkbmap-err-log
xkbcomp /home/username/myxkbmap $DISPLAY >> /home/username/myxkbmap-err-log 2>&1

xkbcomp -w 0 myxkbmap $DISPLAY

In startup applications, I have an entry with /home/username/capscript on a 45 second delay. I put the delay on after some research in case there were any issues with xorg starting up.