Can't Use Double-TAB for completion of nordvpn commands, anymore

I recently did a new install of Manjaro/KDE. I did it with the hope that bash was still the default shell, but have found out that zsh is now the default. I have no experience with zsh, only bash. zsh is pretty and all, but TAB-TAB Completion doesn’t work correctly in zsh. Here’s what I am expecting:

~$ nordvpn set [TAB] [TAB] [list of available parameters for ‘set’ command]

Instead, all I get is a listing of directories instead of the available commands. Switching to bash in a different Konsole Profile does not bring back this functionality.

I have a laptop that doesn’t display this issue. The install is older, but I have a ton of desktops on it, and the terminal apps all work the same and are set to bash.

This is a Lenovo ThinkCentre All-In-One, with Win11 and Manjaro on a 1TB PCIe NVe card I just put in. The card/drive works fine, but not bash.

I would appreciate any insight into the problem.

-Firefishe

Hullo,

To switch to bash do so using the konsole profiles.

That is create your own ‘firefishe’ profile and set ‘command’ to /usr/bin/bash.**

For bash completion that you are used to then just make sure to have bash-completion installed and something like the following in ~/.bashrc

[ -r /usr/share/bash-completion/bash_completion ] && . /usr/share/bash-completion/bash_completion

Note: I am sure completion works with zsh too, but I dont use it so …

What does that have to do with Manjaro presets? AUR packages are not officially supported. Either a program has shell completions included or they don’t.

You are free to choose whatever shell you wish.

Hi Yochanan, thank you for responding.

The reason I use that command as an example–and yes, it IS an AUR offering–is that it works with my laptop computer with Manjaro on it. So why doesn’t it work with a newer release? There is an answer for this, and I am aware I can use any shell I want, be it bash, zsh, ksh, what-have-you.