Can't Install Windows 10 from USB for Dual-Boot-Setup

Dear manjaro fellows, I am having difficulties setting up my dual-boot.

Please notice: I am not very experienced with manjaro. Feel free to talk to me like I am 5 years old to avoid any confusion on my end :slight_smile:

PC/Background: In February 2020 I bought my very first desktop pc and decided to go with manjaro from the get go. Everything worked perfectly and I was very happy in my manjaro kingdom. However my inner piece got disrupted as I started going to university in october :frowning: I will need Windows for university in February (and also for gaming with anticheat clients).

• CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3600, 6x 3.60GHz
  • Mainboard: MSI X470 Gaming Plus Max
  • SSD: Silicon Power P34A80 1TB, M.2
  • GPU: Nitro+ Radeon RX 5700 XT 8G, 8GB GDDR6

My Plan: After research I wanted to install windows on a separate SSD so I bought another Silicon Power SSD with 2TB. After installing windows my plan was to update grub so I can choose the OS on startup.

The problem: I disconnected the existing SSD and connected the new SSD. I made a bootable Windows-10-USB with Windows Media Creation Tool. I plugged in the USB and started the CPU. Windows Installation showed up, I entered the product key. Then the new SSD wasn’t showing up/wasn’t recoignized as installation location. I searched the internet and found it as common problem with my mainboard. I manually added the drivers for finding the SSD to the USB-Stick. But, when I boot with the USB now nothing but a black screen comes up. The monitor starts and shows nothing but a blank screen the whole time.

What I tried:

• I made a new bootable USB, twice with Windows Media Creation Tool, once with Rufus
  • I switched the USB-Stick in the process
  • I tried every video port on my gpu and mainboard because I thought the video output could have changed
  • I wanted to go to UEFI/BIOS but - as nothing shows up besides a black screen - there wasn’t an option to do it