Can't Install, Calamares freezes, "Waiting for 2 module(s), 32 second(s)"

Hi everyone, I’m new to manjaro (and linux in general) and i would like to install it, but I’m struggling on it.
I recently bougth a laptop in which i wanted to make a dual boot. I installed windows, made a partition for linux, booted manjaro on an USB and boot it. Once I’ve opened the installer, it starts loading and always freezes after 32 seconds. stating Waiting for 2 module(s), 32 second(s) I’ve tried with Manjaro Gnome and i3wm. furthermore i tried ubuntu and also froze.

I tried to install it on another device and I succed, so i guess that neither the ISO nor the pen drive is the problem.

I have an Acer Aspire 3 A315-23-R9BD

Hi,

open the installer in debug mode and you will see where it hangs and which modules:

sudo calmares --debug

Please post the output here.

Hi, again.
after the 32 seconds the entire system freezes, and i cant do anything, neither the mouse nor the keyboard respond, so it’s dificult (if I’m not missing anything, impossible) to post the output, due to the fact that i cant do anyting but to shut down the laptop.

Without log, i can’t say anything… beside this, Acer has a really bad support for Linux.

In general you should be able to switch to another TTY with CTRL + ALT + F3 ?

Maybe try the Architect Version?

hi, when 5 sec have passed, the log says:

void Calamares::requirementsChecker::reportProgress()
    Remaining modules: 2
    "partition"
    "welcome"

And repeats until it freezes.
before that, it is stated:

Calamares::RequirementsList GeneralRequirements::checkRequirements()
Need at least storage bytes: 8482560409
void Calamares::RequirementsChecker::addCheckedRequiements(Calamares::Module*)
Got 0 requirements from "users"
KeyboardPage::onListVariantCurrentItemChanged(QListWidgetItem*, QListWidgetItem*)::<lambda()>
xkbmap selection changed to: "us" - ""

I dont know if this is useful, but it’s all I can do.

1 Like