Cannot successfully SSH to Raspberry Pi 4

Hi,

I am a Linux novice and am having trouble getting up and running with Manjaro on my Raspberry Pi 4.

I have searched the forum for similar issues to mine but have not found a solution.

I have flashed an SD card with Manjaro ARM KDE Plasma 22.06 64bit using the Raspberry Pi Imager Windows software.

When I boot the RPi using this card I cannot successfully login via SSH using Putty as either Manjaro or Root. I’ve tried pw = manjaro and blank for both users.
Each time the response is “access denied”.
This suggests to me that SSH is running but there is a configuration/permissions issue preventing login.

My debugging is constrained by the fact that when I connect the RPi to my monitor (Acer R271) nothing is displayed. I have tried various suggested edits to my config.txt file to get the monitor to work without success.

The RPi is hard wired to my router and successfully acquires an IP address
I can successfully ping the RPi and it shows up in my router list of clients as “manjaro arm”

Using the Manjaro Minimal distribution for the Rpi gives the same results

Note that the RPi successfully boots with Raspberry Pi OS 64bit (Bullseye) and is accessible via SSH

My default config.txt file looks like this

# See /boot/overlays/README for all available options

#gpu_mem=64
initramfs initramfs-linux.img followkernel
kernel=kernel8.img
arm_64bit=1
disable_overscan=1
dtparam=krnbt=on

#enable sound
dtparam=audio=on
#hdmi_drive=2

#enable vc4
dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d
max_framebuffers=2
disable_splash=1

What other diagnostics can I run (note my lack of display) or config tweaks can I make to help me get to the bottom of this ?

Thanks

Using the Desktop flavors requires a monitor and keyboard attached and if I recall correct SSH is not enabled on the desktop editons.

To have SSH you need to use the minimal image which has ssh enabled and will guide you through the initial configuration - read the following guide