Can Manjaro really be installed on an external hard drive?

Hello,

I’ve been using Manjaro for about two years now and love it. My computer has never been so useful before–no more crashes and can do much more than in the past.

I’ve been trying to get some family members to give it a try but they’re afraid of moving from their current OS, although quite frustrated with it; and the cost of purchasing another internal drive to match their current (for a dual-boot system) is a bit too expensive for current finances; and they don’t want to partition their current drive.

I was reading over these two articles that claim a persistent version of Manjaro can be be installed on a USB flash drive. I’m writing to ask if it is truly possible to install Manjaro on an external hard drive (for example, one of these 1-2 TB versions rather than a less-durable flash drive) such that it would work the same as a normal install on the internal hard drive.

If it is possible, I assume that the performance would depend upon the USB port speed. I think I read somewhere fairly recently that a 3.0 is about the same as an internal SSD.

If possible, would that external hard drive be truly portable to another machine that has slightly different hardware? I don’t mean 32-bit versus 64-bit architecture, but differences in installed RAM, graphics card, and the like.

Thank you for considering my question and for any guidance you may be able to provide.

1 Like

Most definitely. An external drive is just another type of drive connected to your computer, it can do anything all the others can.

You haven’t specified what the OS is, so I’ll list both possibilities:

• If it is Windows, they will have to update the boot order in their UEFI every time they want to switch OS. (Though, Manjaro may not be the best way to start a Windows user on Linux.)