Brother MFC-240C USB and MFC-J460DW Network

Hello, FYI if anyne from the Manjaro team see this I’m new to Manjaro after having been stuck in the dated world of Red Hat and it’s very good to be here as Manjaro KDE 20.2 is wildly cool!!

That said, it would seem that Printers in the Linux world are universally jacked and my issues with them wasn’t simply due to Red Hat being always out of date… Given that I still figured it would hurt to ask if anyone had information which might point me to something I’ve missed.

I have a fresh install of Manjaro KDE 20.2 and it says it is up to date. It’s running on an older beast that has an eight core AMD and an Nvidia graphics card. I might have built it back in 2014 but it’s still got plently of umpf to it! I also have two Brother printers, an MFC-240C connected via USB 2 and a newer network attached MFC-J460DW printer. I’ve pretty much exhausted all the tings I’ve found out the interweb :-)… I have established that that I can see both printer in the system however attempts to configure them using various methods are never able to print the test page so I assume the lack of support for those printers get close but not close enough… The questions I’d like to generally ask are:

1. Does an IPP printer require having the drivers for that particular printer? I am assuming it does, since the IPP Everywhere didn’t seem to get any closer than anything else.
  2. Has anyone used/tried the MFC-240C package that can be found in AUR? I know AUR isn’t officially supported ((FYI having a community opportunity to share stuff is very cool)).
  3. Does anyone have one of these printers working?
  4. If I were to go out and buy, yet another, printer for use with my Manjaro system, is there a specific printer which consistently demonstrates reliable Linux functionality, or perhaps a least a printer brand/manufacturer?

I believe asking about scanning would be way across the stupid line (where I find myself all to often :slight_smile: