Bluemail save attached file window unreadable (squares instead of letters)

Hi everyone,

I have been using Manjaro KDE for over two years now without any issue (any issue that I couldn’t solve on my own, that is :wink:). I looked up the forum for an answer to the question I have today but I couldn’t find any.

I installed Bluemail a few days ago through snap. It works like a charm except for one thing : whenever I try to save an attached document to an email I have received, the window that pops up (which is supposed to allow me to chose where the file should be saved) is unreadable : all the letters it contains in the folder names are replaced by small square symbols, making it impossible for me to navigate through my folders.

I am running X11 in case this has anything to do with my problem…

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks !

Sincerely

Unless there’s a very good reason to specifically use the Snap, Flatpak, or App Image version of a program, you should lean towards the official repositories and then the AUR.

Bluemail is available from the AUR, and the PKGBUILD was updated a couple weeks ago.

I’m like 90% certain this will resolve your issue.

(Just double-check to make sure your inboxes are safe. I would go ahead and make a copy of your mailbox folder.)

Thanks for your reply. I read somewhere that installing software from the AUR on Manjaro could result in a broken system after some updates so I have always been afraid of enabling the AUR. Maybe this is not true and I should just give it a go, just to see…
I still don’t understand why the characters in the snap version I have are replaced by small squares. If anyone has an idea, I am interested. Otherwise, I will follow Winnie’s advice and install Bluemail from the AUR. Thanks !

Hi everyone,

I tried something after reading about it somewhere but it didn’t work. Here is what I did:
I refreshed my font cache:

rm -rf ~/.cache/fontconfig
fc-cache -r -v

Then I deleted the font cache of Bluemail: