Black screen after performing system upgrade and rebooting

Hey all - I’m new to manjaro and installed a clean version with simple partitioning (GPT) so there is 8mb sda1 unformatted with the bios-grub flag enabled and the rest (sda2 ext4) is for /

It seems that when I run yay and it upgrades the system I can no longer boot on restart. Any ideas?

What do you see when you reboot?

Nothing appears in the screen - I’ve also tested with u ograding with Pacman instead of yay… Same result - can’t boot after power cycle

If you keep pressing “Esc” during boot, do you see the boot menu?

As in, it’s just a blank black screen?

I just see a flashing cursor

Yea just a blank screen unfortunately

In the UEFI menu, the one that appears during boot by holding the “F2” key or something like that, is the feature “Secure Boot” enabled?

This is apparently a legacy boot so it is bios with a master boot record

It looks to me that your boot partition, sda1, is just too small for the boot loader.

In a BIOS system you will be better with a dos partition table, with a single partition for everything.

I won’t use a swap partition, but instead a swap file. That way it can dynamically increase its size as needed.

Alright I tried with a single partition and I also switchwd to uefi mode in the boot… Still no luck - it hangs at boot. I do notice that when I run Pacman -Syu it asks about upgrading the kernel… Should I just not upgrade the kernel? I’ll trying doing an upgrade of everything except the kernel and report back

I thought your system wasn’t capable of UEFI. If it is you are better with UEFI mode, but my latest partition scheme then doesn’t apply.

What is important is disabling Secure Boot and the Trusted Computing Module. You must have a boot partition of at least 260 MiB, using GUID.

For details you can have a look at:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Partitioning