Banned by bbs.archlinux.org

I’m new to Manjaro and archlinux, my laptop has some compatibility problems with hardware, so I’m trying both to see which is more suitable.
I asked a common hardware compatibility question, with a note that “I’m running Manjaro” to be honest, they warned me.
Then when I’m tring archlinux, and asked a question about AUR, nothing about Manjaro, be banned, the left message is " Seek help from the community for your distribution."

I think the culture of archlinux dones’t considering honor much.

First of all, even though you were ‘honest’ about using Manjaro (on the Arch BBS), by continuing on and posting (even though you’ve agreed to abide by the Arch CoC), you’ve already painted a target on your back.

Too many people get called out for not running Arch, then they will repost the same thing, trying to creatively edit out the fact that they are not running Arch. Providing a uname -a (which can be found with a search, and just copy/pasted) isn’t proof that you’re running Arch.

I saw the thread that resulted in your ban.

The AUR is for Arch, regardless if Manjaro/Endeavor/whatever can use it. The same rules apply on the BBS WRT questions regarding the AUR.

If you feel the ban was unfair/in error, you can appeal it. It might help your appeal if you provide a complete dmesg and complete pacman.log (I would use a pastebin, if I was you.) :slight_smile:

4 Likes

OK
Normally it’s hard to help a newbie about archlinux or even manjaro.
A better way is to learn the basics myself first.

Thanks

You agreed to the Arch forum rules when you signed up there. You violated them and they banned you. Not sure what you were expecting.

Arch is not Manjaro. Manjaro is not Arch.

4 Likes

I’m new to Manjaro and archlinux, I’m using both to see hardware compatibility and user experience.