Auto connect to free wifi - how to disable?

Hi I am new to Manjaro, and maybe I just overlooked a simple setting, but my Laptop always connects to free Wi-Fi and even prefers to connect to free Wi-Fi over Wi-Fi I already connected too. So far these Wi-Fi where always trustworthy, but still I want to decide which Wi-Fi I connect too.

easy
tell them (set them) to not auto connect
or modify the priority …

in which case there cannot be an automatism?
No? Yes? :wink:

Either delete those networks form network manager or in their properties untick the autoconnection. Does not seem very complicated to me.

Nachlese is correct. You can set up automation or do it manually, but not both. Manual and automatic are mutually exclusive conditions.

My recommendation is just pick and choose as you can without automation, and make sure you have a local firewall if you’re going to be on free/public wi-fi regularly since your OS may not have come with one by default.

Having your laptop connect to “free” or open wi-fis automagically is incredibly dangerous and should always be avoided.

There may be a way to disable autoconnect to Wi-Fi for all connections. I just tested it on my mini-PC and it worked. Hopefully it may be a fix that persists even after system restarts. The fix was found at: NetworkManager device autoconnect option: Meaning and status? - Fedora Discussion

Basically, all you need to do is:

1. Identify your Wi-Fi interface. This can be done via several commands in a terminal - I used
    nmcli device show
    to confirm my mini-PC’s wifi interface name, which is wlo1:
    Screenshot_20240319_113301

2. Enter the following command in a terminal (this worked for me as user - no sudo required):
    nmcli device set wlo1 autoconnect no (make sure you change wlo1 to your wifi device name)