Asus Zephyrus G14 Ryzen 9 Overheating, overthrottling issue

Hello!

This is my second attempt at participating in the Manjaro community after I was really turned off before. I recently installed Manjaro 20 on my Brand new Asus Zephyrus G14 Dual core Ryzen 4900 GTX 2060. Everything I need appears to work out of the box.
BUT, under Manjaro, my system is overheating and over throttling reducing my supposed 13 hour battery life under windows to a mere two hours. I’m a noob still at linux (atleast Manjaro) and though I read a couple similar posts, I’m afraid I’m not sure exactly at which point to assimilate someone else’s experience to my own and I thereby get slightly lost in being able to deal with this effectively. My temperatures have reached 89c and I’m not too sure why. My guess under the current hysteria level everyone is under would be Computer COVID (20)!

Hello and welcome back!

If i may ask, something technical or other “nature” ?

This is a complete guide for that Laptop Model, and even tho is for arch linux, it should help understand better the issue and probably help you move forward:
https://asus-linux.org/wiki/g14-and-g15/setup-guides/arch-full-guide/
and

2 Likes

Thank you so much for that reply! To answer your question firstly, a moderator (not you) capriciously deleted my post for help resulting in a hopeless situation for me. Unable to get started on working with Manjaro I switched back to windows 7, Mint and Mac. It was really wrong the way he/she went about it completely ignoring their own rules and philosophy. My post was not in violation of rules and was within context. The more I thought about it afterwards, the more upset I became about it especially knowing that this was the only way to get any help and proceed forward.

But anyway Back to the issue at hand (before this gets too long)…