Apps menu not launching with Windows / Super key

I dont know how to make manjaro open the bottom left menu when I press the Windows/Super key, I tried to solve it myself, I tried to link this action to a shortcut by adding xfce4-whiskermenu-plugin to the key, but I get this error: Failed to execute the process xfce4-whiskermenu-plugin (The file or directory does not exist)

I’m new to GNU/Linux and I hope you can help me

The right command is
xfce4-popup-whiskermenu

1 Like

Hi, thank you very much, I am very sorry, but I forgot to mention that xfce4-popup-applicationsmenu is also linked to my Super Key, but I dont see it listed in the keyboard shortcuts. How do I remove it? The problem now is that i can’t use the whisker menu since me applications menu launches right after. I also tried restoring the shortcuts to default.

Again thank you so much.

I also got that recently when i reinstalled on a new drive. I had to uncheck “Include applications menu on desktop right click” in the Desktop settings.
Don’t ask me why…

Sadly that doesn’t seem to solve it, the applications menu keeps launching. Is there an easier way to maybe “restore” xfce rather than having to reinstall?. I also messed up with my taskbar/panel, and I would like to have it the way it is by default.

Settings > Keyboard > Application Shortcuts >

Documentation

This same information can be viewed and edited with the Settings Editor.

Or, with the command xfconf-query

xfconf-query --channel xfce4-keyboard-shortcuts --list --verbose | grep -i whisker

I find xfconf-query the easiest way to find a shortcut, and then work from there.

The text file (yeah text!) that is updated is $HOME/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xfce4-keyboard-shortcuts.xml.

After using a GUI, I like to execute the command below to show me what file(s) was updated. I have an alias for it.

find -newermt "1 minute ago"