All Input Devices Start Fine but Go Unresponsive

Hello, All. I am new to Manjaro and pretty new to Linux in general. I’m having a super strange issue where my mouse, keyboard, touchscreen, USB mouse, etc. all go unresponsive after a machine boot. There are times where I can get a few characters of my pw typed in and random times when I can even get logged in fully, but 95% of the time it then locks up. This can happen anywhere from 5 seconds to 30 seconds. Before failing, I’m able to move my mouse around, touch the screen, type in the password field, whatever I want. When it locks, I have to do a full hard shutdown (holding the power button) to reboot.

Randomly, I may get super lucky and hit some sort of combo that it never locks. As long I don’t restart/shutdown, it seems to be fine. Even when the machine times out or I close the lid.

I had this issue with MX Linux XFCE and thought it was due to that so I switched to Manjaro KDE. I like it a lot better so I want to stick with this but the problem persists. I did a BIOS update but it didn’t help. I confirmed it is also present when booting from the live USB. I do not believe there were any issues with Windows 10/11 (I forget what it had) before I wiped it but that ship has long sailed now as I did a full reformat. I guess I could try reinstalling Windows and running without a key if that would help get to the bottom of it.

Laptop is a Dell Latitude 7390. Not sure what other information might be helpful but I appreciate anything you all can offer.

Then I’m afraid it is very likely a hardware issue. Re-installing Windows to see if it happens there is your best next move.