After adding a Xorg config file, xfce panel and some of my settings disappear

Hello, im new to linux so bare with me.

So I wanted to remove the annoying screen tearing when watching videos and i found the solution where you put 20-intel.conf in your xorg.conf.d dir so I did that. Then after I reboot my device my my desktop settings, xfce panel and other stuff wont work. I tried to launch xfce panel but it says “There is already a running instance” and if I delete the config file and reboot everything goes back to normal.

GPU: Intel CometLake-U GT2 [UHD Graphics]

etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-intel.conf contents

Section "Device"
  Identifier "Intel Graphics"
  Driver "intel"
  Option "TearFree" "true"
  Option "TripleBuffer" "true"
EndSection

also did this but still tearing is there

xfwm4 --replace --vblank=glx &
xfconf-query -c xfwm4 -p /general/vblank_mode -s glx

Odd. Mere Google-Fu but does it help if you

rm ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/displays.xml

and logout and back in?

Do you actually have a Intel GPU that supports this setting? Newer ones don’t support it.

nope, it did not.

I think it supports it since I tried to watch a screen tearing test video on youtube and the tearing was gone

The default driver for relatively modern Intel graphics is the more minimal “modesetting” driver rather than “intel” and unless you’re on old hardware “modesetting” would be your default. That driver however lacks TearFree support – lacked, but xf86-video-modesetting X.Org Driver Sees Patch For "TearFree" Page Flipping - Phoronix; 5 days ago – and according to e.g. Intel graphics - ArchWiki your implemented try is still correct. Certainly the fact that you have a repeatable difference with and without the xorg.conf fragment means it’s applied…

1 Like

Thank you, Ill just try to find an alternative if its possible.