You Are My New Daily Driver, But I'm A Little Worried About Security

First of all AMAZING JOB WITH THIS OS. The defaults are FINALLY sensible in a flavor of Linux after decades of people with agendas trying and failing to build something truly great. WELL DONE.

You've made it to my desktop as I can finally do what I want and need with this system without having to spend needless time in configuration and maintenance. I've been running it for a few months now and I'm satisfied to leave it as my home base.

That said, I'd like to very respectfully bring up a subject that is concerning to me as a user, and that's how packages are handled. If you have a look at:

arch-audit

You will find that we end up with a lot of vulnerabilities (as any system will, and as you say, without vulnerabilities listed, we would be in of course worse trouble) but some of them are already solved, but because of the way you handle packages, I feel unsafe.

I am writing to put forth the idea that perhaps there could at some point be a way to bring in directly a fix for a package without the normal method (even fast-tracking is leaving me exposed and vulnerable unfortunately). Perhaps there is already a method for doing this and I have simply missed it.

Regardless, thank you again for your great work.

The current output of unstable branch is this:

phil@development ~ $ arch-audit
Package inetutils is affected by CVE-2019-0053. High risk!
Package openjpeg2 is affected by CVE-2019-6988. Low risk!
Package qemu is affected by CVE-2019-20382. Low risk!
Package unzip is affected by CVE-2018-1000035. Low risk!

Stable might have more results, as it might have older packages.

If you look at our mailing list you will see that we are really active in packaging our own overlay packages and try to push a working set of packages to our Testing branch. We have almost daily updates on Testing. However, major updates to Gnome, Plasma or systemd and co might give us more work to get stabilized.