Y'all like your PinePhones?

I am just learning about them and value your opinions on.
1 their practicality over other phones (how has it improved your life)
2 the quality of the device
A) is it versatile?
B) is it durable?
C) buggy or nah?
3 the quality of the company? forseeable future? support?
4 the quality of Pine’s competitors and competing products?

I’ll give a couple of answers from my perspective.

1. It’s a phone without any ties to google or Apple. That also means, without their app stores.
  2. The build quality is excellent. It really feels like a premium phone.
    2a. You can do hardware mods, switch battery, backcases etc. So I would say yes.
    2b. It’s a hard plastic case, with a glass screen. Durable, depends on how you use it. :wink:
    2c. Bugginess depends on the interface you choose to use on. Many say that Phosh is the most stable at the moment.
  3. Pine64 has been around for a few years now and I haven’t seen any indication that they are slowing down stuff.
  4. Competing products for the PinePhone are far between, as the PinePhone is a true Linux phone. Only a handful others exists and some are way more expensive (ex. Purism Libremn 5).
5 Likes

My experience here, got the phone around 6months ago with the idea of it being a toy to play with. I is so great and easy to change distros, that I have experience almost all distros available and using as a daily dirver since I bought it…but it also depends if you use spyware or not…if you don’t need them and feel confortable using xmpp as chat, no social media and etc the pine phone is the solution of many problems.

3 Likes

Do phone calls work in a stable way? No need to reboot sometimes to be able to make a phone call?

2 Likes

Well, That’s a software issue and software is buggy still. Most of times it works just fine on Phosh, not so much on Plasma Mobile yet, but will get better soon.

3 Likes