Help finding similar "solver" as provided by Microsoft Excel

Hello all

I am not sure where I should put this, so “support” it is.

I am currently doing my masters education in mechanical engineering, and in one of my courses we are using MS excel to find shortest distance (supposed to be same start/stop point) between cities. This is possible by installing a “solver” as an addon to excel. This solver finds the shorter/better rout for me

I have tried to use the both the solvers provided in Libreoffice, both of them crash. Most other office program available on Linux don’t have the option for solver (I did install and check on quite few).

Now, I am not very keen of running heavy Windows in a VM so I am just wondering if someone here has knowledge of how I can do this in libreoffice, or a stand-alone program.

This is optimization, but all of my searches end up providing tools to optimize network on linux which I am not looking for :slightly_smiling_face:

This might not be available on linux, just wondering if someone knows anything about this.

Mh… there is:

Tools → Goal Seek

and

Tools → Solver…

I am not a Calc/Excel Pro, but what exactly is the problem here? An Error Message… ?

You mean this: Solver right?

Yes, I tried using this solver in Libreoffice.

I am looking for optimization solver, which finds the optimized way between multiple locations. It can also reccomend a vehicle based on Price Value and more. There is a optimizing solver available in MS Excel, but I haven’t found any solver for Linux, and I am having difficult time finding one.

I am just wondering if someone here knew of a optimizing solver on Linux for my usecase. It might not be any though.

Sorry for my bad explaination yesterday, my mind was already at bed :slightly_smiling_face:

So you are searching not for a “solver”, but for an “enhanced optimization solver” ???

So, when I search, I find this for

1. Excel: Solver in Excel (In Easy Steps)
  2. Calc: Solver