Why don't more women use Linux as their os

In all the facebook linux groups that I am a member, only a few are women. It puzzles me no end as I have been using Manjaro for over two years now and love it. I started my Linux experience with Mint and then after the normal distro hopping discovered Manjaro which I have stuck to ever since. Whenever I speak to my female friends who moan about their machines running slower and slower I suggest they try a Linux distro but they all seem to look at me sadly and say they know a man in the local shop who will fix it for them. So what can we do to show more women that you don’t have to be a geek or some super tech whiz to give it a try.

I think it is a question of generations. It used to be similar with driving licence some 50 years ago. But it won’t increase automatically with thech including Linux. Needs to be taught at school, I guess.

there might be more than you think. we don’t always announce ourselves.

It took three years of nearly constant prodding to get my wife to let me install Linux on her machine. She now dual-boots with Windows 8.1 and Manjaro XFCE. After three or four months, I would say she’s settled on Linux 99% of the time. In her case, she’s not the type of computer user who thinks about computing with any awareness of software – it’s more like, she’s used to certain programs acting in a certain way when she pushes a certain series of buttons, and she would never of her own initiative up and try something completely different. If I wasn’t around to restart her NetworkManager when her Broadcom WIFI connection drops, she’d go right back to Windows in a heartbeat – although, she’s picking up little tricks despite all that, and I know she’ll one day find out that she’s flying on her own.