Where to begin? With helping in development, that is

Hi All!

Vague topic I know… But it is quite accurate none the less. The beginning I’m looking for is not the normal one. I’m a programmer by desire today, but professionally in my early days. I grew up on UNIX and VAX/VMS in the beginning. Before Linux existed. I fiddled around with Linux when I first became aware of it’s existence but didn’t really give it much credence. I was indeed wrong on it’s viability as an OS. I was mainly an applications and database programmer and wrote many LARGE multi-functional systems in several different languages but mainly used C for my base go to language if nothing else worked.

Since coming to Linux I’ve distro hopped almost continuously. I have always fallen back on Mint but have a fascination for Arch and Manjaro especially. I can’t explain why but I keep coming back and here I am again. Running a triple boot. Manjaro, Mint 19.1 and Windows 10 which I can’t yet get rid of due to a program requirement which may change SOON.

Ok… To the point. I’m wondering how I can use my skills to best advance Manjaro. I have delved into Qt, Python, C++ and of course C again and am pretty comfortable with them. I don’t really see a need for a database type app yet but there may be one. I guess what I’m really wondering is, is anybody doing development who would like a hand with something? Or does anyone have an idea for a program, tool, etc that they just don’t have the time to look into. I work best with a goal which is the reason I ask but if nothing comes of it then fine… I’ll just keep looking.

To ALL the developers of Manjaro! THANK YOU for a job WELL DONE! and I hope to hear from one of you.

12 Likes

Welcome to the forum @PaulKBSr :slight_smile:

Want to take a look at pamac-qt?

One of the reason for myself (in a pessimistc way) is that I prefer Arch packaging shortcomings over .deb packaging (or lack of them) ones

3 Likes