What do you think of these two encrypted partition schemes? - Should I use "/ and /home" OR "/ and data partition"?

Hi,

I have a 2TB NVMe drive (which is regularly backed up to an external drive) and I want to have a partition scheme that satisfies the following:

1. Both of my big partitions (/boot is not a must) have to be encrypted
  2. / should be a separate partition since I will probably mess up my system every now and then and thus, will have to reinstall it occasionally

Since grub needs >20sec to decrypt a single partition (and I have to have 2 encrypted partitions), I decided to go for an unencrypted boot for now. Systemd-boot apparently just needs 1 sec to decrypt, but this is only available via manjaro architect (which is unmaintained and unavailable to dl right now) and I’m a noob with too little time atm (I have exams soon… :frowning:)

So I came to think of two schemes:

Scheme 1: Have an encrypted / and an encrypted /home partition

Advantages:

• No need to copy /home back over from my backup drive after a fresh system install to /
  • All personal (i.e. “non system”) data is on a single partition
  • Somehow feels like the nicer approach

Disadvantages

• More difficult to set up and have it work comfortably after a fresh install of both partitions:
    I have to enter 2 passwords at boot time - unless I find out how to use keyfiles which would allow to make /home automatically mount after I typed in the password for / (however, this seems doable for me with a little reading)
  • Way more difficult to set up after a fresh install of / when there is already data on the /home partition: