What do we want this forum to be?

I haven't logged in in a while. Fortunately, because at first I came whenever I encountered a problem or didn't know how to do something in arch because I have never used it before.

To my surprise I see how much the forum has grown, but in size. And it worries me. It does not because people are having too many issues or Manjaro is becoming buggy. It worries me because along Manjaro gaining popularity, the forum is gaining on users/visitors and it is sort of becoming a kitchen sink for all your Linux needs.

I found most of the questions are not Manjaro related, but just general Linux questions. At the beginning I found the forum really useful because it was more centered around the distribution.
I wonder if this is becoming the new "Unix Stackexchange" or the new "Ubuntu Forums". If it is then I think that is not the right direction to go. There are other places to do that, some arguably better (Arch Wiki)

Also auto closing/expiring the questions in some way collaborates towards people repeating them over and over again. Because they cannot reuse the same thread to ask for clarification or further help. That means that we keep information on the same topic scattered across the forum. That is a sin for a site with the objective to help people find solutions, it goes against the very basic principle.

This really worries me. I think the quality and usefulness of the site is decreasing. And I could come up with this two factors as somewhat responsible. You can agree or disagree or find other culprits or not, maybe you are happy with the way this is going. I would very much love to hear your thoughts.

Cheers,
GH

3 Likes

Oh no, how simply dreadful! :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Given the forum has a diverse category structure, & has "older" members who honour that in their posts, & active diligent Mods who monitor & correct this for "noobs", what exactly is your anxiety here?