Wake on Lan

Hello folks,
Been spending many hours trying to configure persistent wake on lan on my odroid n2 with Manjaro, with no success.

sudo ethtool -s eth0 wol g -> sudo ethtool eth0 | grep Wake => Wake-on: g Reboot -> sudo ethtool eth0 | grep Wake => Wake-on: d

Set WOL_DISABLE=N in /etc/default/tlp

Created /etc/systemd/system/wol@.service

[code][Unit]
Description=Wake-on-LAN for %i
Requires=network.target
After=network.target

[Service]
ExecStart=/usr/bin/ethtool -s %i wol g
Type=oneshot

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target[/code]
Then sudo systemctl start wol@eth0 sudo systemctl enable wol@eth0

Didn't work.

Created a cron with cronie

@reboot /usr/bin/ethtool -s eth0 wol g

Didn't work either.

Can someone tell me if there's a trick or something I'm missing? (I'm a total beginner, but have been learning a lot since the last few days about services)

(Yes, I checked https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wake-on-LAN)

Thanks!

If you have an r8168 realtek adapter be sure you are using the r8169 kernel module.

If that's not the solution please post:

inxi -Fxxxz
2 Likes

Hello tbg, thanks for your answer! I am a real beginner, can you give me any leads to achieving this update and how to check the current kernel?
Thanks for your patience!

When someone offers to assist and requests outputs you would be well advised to provide them.

Of course, I just didn't want to put the cart before the horse, since you told me this should happen after trying to update kernel first :wink:
There you go:

System:    Host: odroid Kernel: 4.9.177-2-MANJARO-ARM aarch64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 8.2.1 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.16.4 
           tk: Qt 5.13.0 wm: kwin_x11 dm: SDDM Distro: Manjaro ARM 
Machine:   Type: ARM Device System: Hardkernel ODROID-N2 rev: 0400 serial: <filter> 
CPU:       Topology: 6-Core (2-Die) model: N/A variant-1: cortex-a73 variant-2: cortex-a53 bits: 64 type: MCP MCM arch: ARMv8 
           rev: 4